The Massachusetts ACE Women’s Network is pleased to invite you to submit nominations for the 2017 Leadership Awards. Nominations are due by Monday, April 17, 2017.

The Massachusetts ACE Leadership Award recognizes women at any stage of their careers who exhibit leadership in mentoring, promoting, and encouraging women in the field of higher education in Massachusetts. The awardees exemplify the principles of the ACE National Network: IDEALS, which stands for Identify, Develop, Encourage, Advance, Link, and Support women to advance their careers. Nominations are invited for candidates who:

  • Demonstrate commitment to the advancement of women
  • Provide evidence of encouragement and mentoring of women
  • Demonstrate professional growth in increasingly responsible leadership positions

This year’s recipients will receive their awards in early June at our President’s Dinner at Brandeis University.

To nominate, please send a maximum two-page nomination letter that speaks to the ways in which the nominee meets the criteria above. Please indicate whether you feel your nominated candidate should be considered for either 1) a Leadership Award, or 2) an Early Career Leadership Promise Award.   Since the MA ACE Network will distribute two awards, one in each category, candidates who are early in their careers as well as those who are more seasoned will be considered.

Please be sure to include the nominee’s contact information, as well as your own, as the nominator.

Please email the maximum two-page nomination letter and the above information by Monday April 17, 2017 to: Karen Britton at


Previous Award Winners:

ACE Emerging Leaders Award
Brenda Safford
Director of Multicultural Affairs, Assumption College

ACE Senior Leadership Award
Patricia Maguire Meservey
President, Salem State University

ACE Emerging Leaders Award
Sheilah Shaw Horton
Associate Vice President and Dean of Student Development, Boston College

ACE Senior Leadership Award
Carol Leary
President, Bay Path College

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mary Grant
President, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Leadership Award
Linda Eisenmann
Provost, Wheaton College

Lifetime Achievement Award
Katherine Sloan
President Emerita, Mass College of Art & Design

Leadership Award
Kim Godsoe
Dean of Academic Services, Brandeis University

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mary Fifield
President, Bunker Hill Community College

Leadership Award
Lisa Sullivan
Associate Dean, Boston University School of Public Health

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mary Deane Sorcinelli
Associate Provost for Faculty Development, UMass Amherst

Leadership Award
Catherine Koverola
Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, Lesley College
Lisa Krissoff Boehm
Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Emmanuel College

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Maureen O’Neill, Northshore Community College

Leadership Award
Donna Qualters, Tufts University
Paula Rooney, Dean College

Lifetime Achievement Award
Margaret McKenna, Suffolk College

Julia Halevy, Boston Architectural College

Emerging Leader
Amy Rutstein-Riley, Lesley University